So it’s been a while…

I don’t know if it’s all the chatter about NaNoWriMo that’s got me thinking about writing again or not, but I’m glad that I am. I really enjoyed the writing that I did last year, but I hadn’t expected to burn out so fast. Or take so long to come back to it.

At first, I just needed a break. To go from no recent writing experience to over 20,000 words in two weeks strained me more than I thought it would. I loved it, I got submerged in it, but I also experienced a world of stress with it. Am I proud of what I did accomplish? Yes. Has is taken me too long to get back to it? Definitely.

It’s easy to get caught up in life. When 2010 rolled around, I hadn’t planned on working full-time. I certainly hadn’t planned on working as much overtime either. But that’s where I am now. I believe I’ve adjusted. I believe that I’m regaining the energy I need to write. Make no mistake about that. Writing takes energy. The more emotionally involved you are in a project, the more you need. Coming home from work both physically and mentally exhausted absolutely killed any desire I had to write.

Am I ready to start setting aside time just for writing? I don’t know, but I’d like to try. Last year, I just started writing. I had no outline, I had no plan, I didn’t even have characters. All I had was the beginning of a scene in the woods. I wrote completely off the cuff with no editing, no analyzing where my story was going, no defined magic system or world. It was freeing, but it’s also not the way to get things done. I became overwhelmed by my own story. I stopped in the middle of a piece of lore because I wasn’t sure what my history was. It was good for me, but it was completely unorganized.

I don’t think I have time to write right now. I’m still working late most nights and I am tired at the end of the day. I won’t be participating in NaNoWriMo this year. I just can’t commit enough of myself to it. What I can do is take what I wrote last year and start working with it, organizing it, refining it into something that has promise. There will likely be some plot changes, plenty of editing, removing of annoying accents and an overall overhaul. All of this I can at least do with a few stolen moments at work. Maybe I’ll even have time to rewrite or add passages on the weekend.

I don’t want to be overwhelmed by this, but I can’t let it sit any longer.

Leave a Reply

